Mini Breakfast Casserole

I’m not one for pre cooking meals, so this is a first breakfast for me. And I am extremely pleased with the results.

I’m always rushing in the morning but since my morning commute is about 45 to 50 minutes, I don’t really want to entertain the idea of getting up any earlier than necessary. I give myself close to an hour and usually, I’m good on time but if I add in anything else, such as preparing breakfast, I’m no go good at all and spend the next 45 minutes flying like a bat out of hell through the country roads of southwest Georgia. And let’s just say, I don’t like that any more than getting up any earlier. Especially since the country roads are an invitation for not just the droves of wild critters and dear that like to play dodge car but also for the oversized harvesting combines and other farming tractor type machines that clog up the single lane roads. Welcome to the land of cotton, tobacco, soy beans, and peanuts.

Anyway, recently I’ve found that I really do need to eat something in the morning. Sooo – I cheated. I bought Kellogg’s prepackaged egg, bacon, and cheese on flatbread breakfasts. They’re good and in 1.5 minutes, I can be out the door on time and not have to worry about the local po po chasing down this beetle driving speed racer. But…it gets costly and really, I don’t need to be that lazy.

So, I tried something new. I love cooking and I absolutely love experimenting. Put the two together and one never knows what combinations will surprise the pallet…or any other one of the senses. I like trying new things but I am also very sensitive to how pleasing the whole package is through taste, texture, smell, and colors. Occasionally, I bomb but not this time.

What did I prepare? Rather than make a panned breakfast casserole, I made individual serving sizes. Eggs are easy and when done right, they’re super tasty, fluffy, and filling.

This creation was my own so I don’t have a formal recipe to copy or link to share. You’ll just have to bare with me as I try to provide measurements because I barely measure anything. Hahaha!

Getting started:

Preheat oven to 350

You’ll need 1 cooking sprayed regular sized muffin pan, 4 eggs, 1/4 cup milk, 1 cup chopped veggies, (I used a combination of spinach, zucchini, yellow squash, red onion, and green pepper. I was out of tomatoes. ) 2 pieces of bread ripped into small pieces, 1 cup loose sausage  (crumbled and cooked), seasons, and about a 1/3 cup of shredded cheese. Oh! and a 1/4 tsp. of corn starch. I’ll get to why in a sec.

Prep:

I have a mini individual sized Farberware blender and I LOVE it! It’s ama-zing! But if you don’t have a blender, you can whisk your eggs and they’ll be just fine. Put the 4 eggs, salt and pepper, and milk together…and then sprinkle the cornstarch on top. Blend on high for about 20 seconds or whisk vigorously until well mixed with no lumps from the egg whites -yuck. Why the cornstarch? I recently saw a video from Alton Brown (Camp Cutthroat) where he explained that using cornstarch keeps your eggs from forming a puddle of water on your plate. I never thought to use cornstarch. But, hey – it works!  Set the eggs aside after blending everything together.

Cook up the sausage so that it’s in small crumbles and just barely done. Drain and set aside. You can use any loose sausage you like but my personal, lip smacking preferences are either Jimmy Dean’s maple or sage flavors. Drain excess grease and set aside.

Finely chop up the veggies, mix together, and set aside.

Putting it all together:

Now that you have everything prepped, drop a few pieces of bread into each muffin round. Next, sprinkle the sausage on to the bread. Then, add the veggies. And lastly, pour the egg mixture over the veggies. You’ll have enough mixture to fill each spot approximately 2/3 of the way. I would recommend adding a little bit of the egg mixture to each spot first and then slowly add more to each as needed. Once you’ve finishing filling the muffin tray, pop it into the preheated oven for about 15 – 17 minutes. In the last two minutes, sprinkle cheese on top and garnish with fresh basil or a colorful season blend, such as McCormick’s Roasted Garlic and Bell Pepper blend. Return to the oven for the last two minutes. Remove from the oven, let cool, and then enjoy. They’re like mini quiches or frittatas but with a twist and I couldn’t be happier with the finished product!

Mmmmm! I might have to sneak one for a midnight snack!

~SE

Leave a Reply

