Complicated

Holy complicated, Batman!

Over the years, I have actually had more than a couple people tell me that the look in my eyes is – Simple.   Ya, ya. I know before you get your panties in a wad, let me explain. Initially, I was kind of put off by that word, too but in all actuality, I do prefer for life, relationships, love, work, etc. to be just that – simple. Straight forward with no hidden agendas. Or otherwise know as – Uncomplicated. I also believe in good things. Call it an innocent naiveté but I’d rather see the positive to all situations. However, enjoying the simple things in life, doesn’t mean my mind is simple. And unfortunately, I know that in reality, life and love is anything but uncomplicated. None of it is ever easy – ever.

And why does it really need to be complicated? For instance, guy likes girl. Girl likes guy. They get together. Have some fun. He uses the “L” word – and oh boy, there goes simple. We just entered complicated in 4 letters. How about we just KISS? Keep it simple, stupid. So, ok. Now, what is she supposed to think? Is he really wanting to move forward with this or was he simply caught up in the moment? Blame it on the alcohol. But hey, I always say – you don’t say anything intoxicated that you haven’t thought about saying while sober. See what I mean? Complicated. Then, a washed with more feeling, he addresses the topic of other women not being faithful. Where are we going with this? Where did simple go? The daily messages. The visits. The hot sex that he refers to as “making love”.  …There are other intimate details to those conversations that really just add to the complicated confusion, making it difficult to know exactly where this whole thing is going.  On one hand – it’s just us having fun, getting to know each other. On the other hand, it’s him saying things that add confusion – like asking me if I’m going to tell people I’m taken. Taken? That would mean we’re in a relationship – right?

But as complicated would have it, he went straight for the climax of complicated. Straight to the top where we now teeter back and forth with uneasiness. On a glowing high, I made mention about us. Nothing detailed. Just the sweet Romeo part (forgetting that Romeo and Juliet is actually a tragedy) and you freaked. Told me it was too soon. Was offended when I asked a personal question. And now, I’m sitting here trying to understand what type of relationship you really want.

What started off simple and exciting has just ascended to an all time complicated high and  when it crashes, it’s going to be a doozy.

~SE

Leave a Reply

