Fake Pie

Fake Pie

This year’s Thanksgiving was spent with just me and two of the three chicks. We had a great week off from school just spending time with each other and doing as we always do – making each other laugh!  (Videos to come – I promise!)

Anyway, this year I decided I was going to take the plunge and actually bake a REAL pie! Those who know me, know I LOVE ❤ ❤ ❤ to COOK!  I’m surprised I’m not as monstrous as a hippo and honestly think I actually was one in a previous life. Yes, I LOVE to cook. But, I’m not a fan of baking. Go figure. I can make a meal out of virtually nothing but make candy, fudge, even cookies…and I either cook everything too long or not long enough. Chick #1 is the ultimate Queen baker from scratch and she didn’t get it from me. Baking just isn’t the same as making a meal. There’s too many variables and I’m just too impatient. Who has time to make sure the sugar water boils for exactly X minutes and reaches Y temperature?! Well, guess that explains why my fudge never sets – but, hey – gooey fudge is still pretty yummy!

So, this year – I thought to myself – Self, I really want a mincemeat pie. And after several pre Thanksgiving shopping trips, I gave in to the urge. I bought the generic Great Value Roll Out pie crust and a jar of None Such mincemeat pie filling. How hard could it be, right? So hard, I got cold feet and put the ingredients away for another week until I got the courage – more like an irrational craving for mincemeat – to make the damn pie!

I grabbed my new and unused pie pan, pie crusts, jar of mincemeat, and an egg. And much to my surprise, the entire process went relatively well – that is, AFTER the pie crust softened enough that I could roll it out.

Directions: Push the 1st pie crust into the bottom of the pan, dump the filling on top of that, cover the pie with the 2nd crust, seal and pinch around the edges, slit the top, brush entire top crust with an egg yolk, cover the edges of the crust with aluminum foil, and slide the pie into the oven. Oh – and don’t forget to preheat the oven.

Call me neurotic, but I didn’t want that baby to burn. So I kept a hawk eye on it and every now and then, coated a little more egg yolk over the top.  Much to my surprise, the pie was PERFECT both inside and out! So perfect the Chicks kept calling it FAKE Pie. And you know what? That FAKE pie sat on my FAKE plate and was delicious while I ate it with my FAKE fork. YUM!

mincemeat piecrust

Leave a Reply

